May 14-May 20: Mother Goose Suite

M. Ravel, Ma mère l'oye (Mother Goose Suite)

Maurice Ravel was a French pianist, composer and conductor.  This piece was originally written as a duet on two pianos but has also been transcribed for orchestra.  Both versions are included below.  This piece consists of five movements:

I. Pavane of Sleeping Beauty

II. Little Tom Thumb / Hop o' My Thumb (2:00)

III. Little Ugly Girl, Empress of the Pagodas (5:40)

IV. Conversation of Beauty and the Beast (9:25)

V. The Fairy Garden (13:50)


  • Can you identify the type of scale being used in the 3rd movement?  Can you play it on the piano?
  • Share your thoughts about one movement of your choice.